Page 1 of 1

Can we get a network overhaul option

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:11 pm
by Cakeyeater
I hate having to tear my network to pieces and ruining old builds to fit in new nodes. I think there show be a mode that allows you build from all your nodes without requiring that all pieces stay on screen. To reference a good example of this, there is the clash of clans build system. It saves your current build, but allows you to enter an edit mode where you can store and bring out pieces. Then you can validate it once all pieces are placed.

Re: Can we get a network overhaul option

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2018 10:02 pm
by Luminaar
While not exactly the same, there is a rebuild network option which will allow you to detach all of your nodes and reconstruct a network.

To access it, select the "Build" button to access the node menu, and then the "Rebuild" button in the top left. Once you're in Rebuild mode, you'll be able to disconnect all of your nodes using the "Detach" button and reconnect them individually. You will then be able to "Save" the new network if it is valid, or press "Cancel" to return to your previous network configuration.

Re: Can we get a network overhaul option

Posted: Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:51 pm
by TheLurkingRage
Luminaar wrote:While not exactly the same, there is a rebuild network option which will allow you to detach all of your nodes and reconstruct a network.

To access it, select the "Build" button to access the node menu, and then the "Rebuild" button in the top left. Once you're in Rebuild mode, you'll be able to disconnect all of your nodes using the "Detach" button and reconnect them individually. You will then be able to "Save" the new network if it is valid, or press "Cancel" to return to your previous network configuration.

It's poor design that the button is hard to find. It's in an awkward place so it's not easy to notice it. It should be a seamless transition entering edit mode. Detaching a node entirely should automatically enter edit mode. The option to detach the node entirely would be available without having to enter build mode in this case, of course. Being able to save layouts much like you can save class load outs on CoD should also be a thing for a more seamless network layout edit experience.

Re: Can we get a network overhaul option

Posted: Fri Apr 05, 2019 5:21 pm
by Ego
I struggled for a couple of months trying to modify my network without the rebuild button. I felt so stupid when I finally noticed it in its hiding spot. I wonder if the buttons could all be centrally located? Maybe hide them behind a pullout arrow button like the one we use to check our hacks list? That and I've always felt like the settings button should be on the network screen rather than the world screen. Those are the only two buttons I can remember having trouble finding.

Re: Can we get a network overhaul option

Posted: Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:04 am
by Luminaar
Ego wrote:I wonder if the buttons could all be centrally located?
My knowledge of the inner programming aspects of Hackers are super limited, but as we've created an entire AI expansion without moving this to a better place, I'm gonna go out on a limb and say "not easily". However ....
TheLurkingRage wrote:Detaching a node entirely should automatically enter edit mode.
I really like the sounds of this, as it would (potentially) remove the need for the rebuild button altogether! UI space is always a premium - and it'd be nice to use this space for something else. :D